Week #2 – 19.June.2017

Billboard PH is now on its second week. Ed Sheeran’s “Shape of You” remains the number one song in the country. Kpop continues its rise in popularity as their charted songs increased to 11 with Chanyeol’s “Stay With Me” breaking into the top ten. On the other hand, OPM lost numbers and went down to eight. The Chainsmokers continues its domination of the chart with six songs, two of them are still in the top ten.

For this week, let’s take a look at the runner-up song “That’s What I Like” by Bruno Mars.

Title: That’s What I Like
Artist: Bruno Mars
Released: January 30, 2017

“That’s What I Like” is the second single from Bruno Mars’ latest album “24K Magic” and his seventh US number one. It’s hard pressed to find a voice quite like Bruno Mars and in this song it delivers yet again. You will not hear so many high notes here. Instead, Mars gave a soothing and relaxing vibe much like “The Lazy Song” but on a different groove. This song definitely doesn’t sound like anything he released before. Will it be able to finally reach number one in the Philippines? Bruno Mars would definitely like that.

Sitting at #26 is “Sila” by SUD. This is our runner-up for this week’s local songs. Let’s have a listen:

Title: Sila
Artist: SUD
Released: July 31, 2015

For the second week in a row, I’m checking out an artist that I haven’t heard before. I’m all smiles because this is exactly what I’m looking forward to. My smile is even wider after I finished listening to this song that is currently making waves on radio stations all over the country.

“Sila” or “Them” by SUD surprised me in so many ways. I was prepared to berate this song because I find the first part too simplistic with only acoustic and vocals, nothing else. Don’t get me wrong, it’s good but I was expecting something more from a song that is so famous. I want to be blown away. Apparently, it was there waiting for me at the second verse. It started with a bang of the drum and it instantly reminded me of a live version of “Drive” by Incubus where the other instruments also came in midway of the song. And here for me is the best part, the saxophone. A saxophone! A saxophone on an OPM song!!! OMG. At this moment, I already tilted my head back and relaxed all the way through the end of the song. It is some sort of OPM/jazz mashup that I haven’t heard before. It really wowed me because it’s so different and yet so beautiful and it really exemplifies what our local artists can do. I can’t wait for more discoveries like this on future blogs.

Leave a Reply

