Week #3 – 26.June.2017

For the third straight week, Ed Sheeran’s “Shape of You” is the number one song. The rest of the chart looks to be a mirror image of Week #1. OPM representation went back up to ten with Jona again leading the way with three songs. Kpop went down to 8 songs. The Chainsmokers is the big winner again as they lead with seven songs, two of which are still in the top ten. No new artist made it to the charts this week.

With both Ed Sheeran and Bruno Mars still sitting at numbers one and two, let’s take a look and listen on the bronze medalist this week, DJ Khaled’s “I’m the One”:

Title: I’m the One (feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper and Lil Wayne)
Artist: DJ Khaled
Released: April 28, 2017

First off, this can easily pass as a Justin Bieber song if it’s the first time you’re hearing it. It is in line with the more mature music he has been releasing in recent years. As it turns out, it’s an ensemble of artists which only DJ Khaled can do. I am actually wondering how he does it. He is the main artist but he didn’t do anything except shout “We the best music!”, “DJ Khaled!”, “That’s right”, and “I’m the One”. I bet it’s also being debated somewhere in the internet but my guess is that he does the producing behind the scenes. Anyway, this song has an arrangement where each rapper have a part to bust out their rhymes followed by Justin Bieber singing. I’m actually looking forward to hear how Chance the Rapper sounds like because I’ve only see him on TV and I know he’s famous right now. After listening to his part, I didn’t find anything unique in his voice but yeah, it’s good for rapping. As for Lil Wayne, this is his third time in the US number one, but his first since 2009’s “Down” with Jay Sean. His voice here sounds a little less sleepy, if that even makes sense. He even sound a bit like Chance the Rapper with the way they rap. I am not a fan of Quavo’s part because of all the auto-tune. All-in-all, this is a good song which I’m sure is one of the overplayed songs during the summer.

Now, let’s take a look at the one of the three charted OPM songs by Jona. At #38 this week, “Pusong Ligaw” has been her top song so far. Let’s listen:

Title: Pusong Ligaw
Artist: Jona
Released: February 27, 2017

Before I started listening, I swore to myself that this is a love song and boy was I right. A woman singing a song entitled “Pusong Ligaw” or “Lost Heart”, I cracked my knuckles and thought ‘here we go’. If you haven’t heard an OPM love song before, this song is a good introduction on what it basically sounds like. The lyrics are also the typical words you would expect. The piano in this song reminds me a lot of “Turning Tables” by Adele. Her voice is definitely diva. We never really got over the diva era, did we? I smiled when the chimes came in at the exact moment I’m expecting. And of course, there is this big moment at the end where she has to belt the high notes. Don’t get me wrong, it is a good song and she definitely nailed it. The only thing is that it’s another one in a line of OPM love songs with nothing new to offer. It’s very generic that everything in the song is already as expected. The problem with that is it will be famous now but it”ll be obscure tomorrow. To paraphrase movie critics, it has a low relistenability. Come on guys in Star Music, stop doing the same kind of song over and over and start breaking barriers. That’s how you can contribute to the growth of OPM. For now, let’s move along. Nothing special here.

Leave a Reply

